The BBC 100 Big Read

In April 2003, the BBC held a poll to find the 100 best reads in the UK. After much voting and a television show, the Top 100 was decided with Lord of the Rings coming top. Sometime in 2004, I decided that I would try and read them all. I have created a new page with the full list and how I’m doing – at the moment I’ve read 67 books of the 100. Considering I started on 20-something I don’t think I’m doing too badly. I’m reading David Copperfield at the moment which is turning out to be a fab read.

Some of the books that I’m looking forward to reading are:

  • Bleak House
  • The Count of Monte Cristo
  • A Town Like Alice

Ones I’m not looking forward to reading:

  • War and Peace
  • Ulysses
  • Gormenghast

Maybe when I’ve finished each book from now on I will write a review on it. My favourite books so far are: Harry Potter, His Dark Materials, Jane Eyre, Pillars of the Earth, Gone with the Wind, Rebecca and The Secret History.

7 Responses to “The BBC 100 Big Read”


  1. 1 Jo March 27, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Don’t worry, Michelle – War and Peace is a fab read too! I even quite liked Gormenghast in the end. Ulysses is without doubt a killer, though…

  2. 2 Kate March 30, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Helloo,
    I agree with Jo – Ulysses is a killer, and anyone who says they enjoyed it is lying. Might be to others, might be to themselves. Either way, they’re lying.
    And Gormenghast did not quite live up to the Gormenghastly name I gave it, but it’s still too odd for its own good.
    W&P is good for a number of reasons: great story, not as hard to read as you might think, and makes you look dead intellectual on the Tube!
    Roll on the days of being able to read whatever you like….!

  3. 3 mike April 4, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Well the difference is that War&Peace is a must read for everybody and Ulysses should be left for very passionate readers and literature students 🙂

  4. 4 mjbest April 6, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks everyone – looking forward to reading War & Peace a lot more now. Ulysses might just have to wait a few years…maybe one of the last on the list.

  5. 5 Anna June 11, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Hi Michelle, how is “War and Peace” going? Have you finished it yet? ;-D

    • 6 Michelle Best June 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      Hi Anna – many thanks for all the comments. Heh, funnily enough I haven’t finished War & Peace… one day I will get back in to it. Cheers.

  6. 7 Chelsea December 31, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Wondered how you are getting on with your reading? I’m attempting to finish the BBC Top 100 as part of my 40 before 40 challenges. I’m also not looking forward to War & Peace or Ulysses! Details of my blog are: chelseas40before40.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Archives


