The London Marathon

Ah, I love watching the London Marathon – the BBC have managed to create such a good television programme of it over the years. I have watched it ‘live’ twice when my brother-in-law ran it and the atmosphere is just wonderful. The elite runners have finished now so I’m just watching all the normal runners slogging their guts out by running 26 miles and 385 yards. First thing this morning it was gorgeous outside, the sun shining and a bit chilly but great conditions for running but now the weather has turned in to a typical April – showers (some of them really heavy) and sunshine. The programme on TV is so good, not just showing the runners but interviewing competitors, history of the marathon, ariel shots of London in all it’s glory, showing a digital map with mile markers. There is such a mix of people running, you can see that some of them really enjoying it and running it in 3 or 4 hours. Then you get the ones that look in such pain, having leg muscles rubbed by medics, hobbling along and they are only at Tower Bridge which isn’t even half-way. But everyone says it’s the crowds at the London Marathon that keep them going. I’m sure I will still be watching this in a couple of hours time and the runners will still be crossing the line.

Watching thousands and thousands of people in Lycra is inspiring but I don’t think I would even be able to run a mile at the moment. I just love the way a lot of people dress up for the marathon as well – so far I have seen Minnie Mouse, Buzz LightYear, Batman and Robin, Mr Tickle, Father Christmas, Wonder Woman, a Gold Cup, a couple of clowns, a sunflower, and a group of convicts. Also running are some famous (British) faces – James Cracknell, Amanda Holden, Phil Daniels, Flo Benjamin, Jonny Lee Miller, Ben Fogle, Gordon Ramsey, Ronan Keating.

The most inspirational part is watching the wheel chair race, runners who are blind with their running guides and at the end watching people cross the finish line. I wonder how the oldest marathon runner is getting on – at 101, he puts me to shame. Well done to everyone who ran the marathon today!!

1 Response to “The London Marathon”


  1. 1 Alastair April 13, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I was one of the Buzz Lightyears in the marathon today and if you were one of those shouting support can I say many thanks. It was a fantastic experience to have so many people calling and cheering me on.


Leave a Reply

Archives


