Turning in to your mother

Running for the bus today in the rain while sticking out my hand to stop it, I had a sudden vision of my mum running (more like a slow jog) for the bus with me and my brother in tow as small children and how embarrassed I was of my mum trying to get the bus to stop. Does this mean that I’m turning in to my mum – oh dear! My mum doesn’t know about my blog but I’m sure she wouldn’t mind me saying this as she is always saying that she is turning in to her mum and every now and again I see my nan in her as she gets older. I love my mum to bits but I just don’t want to turn in to her. I don’t know why this is but one friend of mine says the same.

I wonder if it is to do with being independent, cutting the umbilical cord properly this time or trying to be your own person. Maybe that’s why the idea of having to move back in with your parents, for whatever reason, seems like a nightmare to me. I’ve heard that it’s not until you have your own children do you really appreciate what your parents do or have done for you. I have a pact with myself that to stop myself from turning into my mum I’m going to do the following: go to the hairdressers every 6 weeks and in years to come I will get my grey hair dyed professionally, keeping up to date with the latest fashions, keeping fit and not getting fat, keep working and keep learning new things. Hopefully I won’t turn in to my dad – having a beard is just not me!

0 Responses to “Turning in to your mother”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


