Going to the dentist

Today I went to the dentist – The End.

Only joking but I did really go to the dentist and my teeth are all OK. I’m lucky that I have a NHS dentist and I only have to go twice a year for check-ups. I’m always surprised when I go that the dentist always says my teeth are fine and only have a small amount of plaque. A quick clean and then I’m out of there – all of 5 minutes. Now this is also more surprising to me as when I was a child I never went to the dentist. My mother has a fear of the dentist so I never went until I was about 10 years old and after the first visit the dentist was struck off (weird). It wasn’t until I was about 23 and one of my old work colleagues recommended a dentist that she went to. I had a fear of the dentist, partially due to my mother’s fear so going was a big step for me. I still go to the same dentist and have only one small filling – not bad for never going for about 20 years.

I had an appointment booked a couple of weeks ago but completely forgot about it so then when I rang to apologise and re-book it I was given two options – today at midday (most inconvenient) or October! I suppose there are two reason for this – one I forgot the first appointment so I was being punished and the other is that I’m a NHS patient. If I paid for it privately I’m sure I could get a more convenient time. Last year there was loads of news reports about people not even being able to get a NHS dentist and when one opened in a town, people would queue for hours to get on the books. I suppose I’m one of the lucky ones or maybe not if you have a phobia of dentists. I’ve just remembered a couple of dreams that I’ve had in the past (quite a few years ago) about losing my teeth – oh that was a horrible dream. I can think of a lot nicer dreams that I’ve had but I don’t think I will be writing them down on here!

3 Responses to “Going to the dentist”


  1. 2 Dentist in Los Angeles February 15, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I went Dr. Afar in los angeles for doing invialign for my teeth. i didn’t suffer any pain or troubles. he is nice doctor and i will recommend my friends also there.

  2. 3 Martin August 28, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    i can relate to the fear of the dentist. its horrible. but then a friend recommended me to this website http://dentistinwarren.com/. and it helped loads! now i dont “dislike” the dentist that much.


Leave a Reply

Archives


