Walking Tall

There are just some days when I feel taller then I really am and its not to do with wearing high heels. Maybe it’s a matter of confidence but when you are 5ft 2in anything to make you feel a few inches taller always helps. Today was a tall day, OK I was wearing heels but I don’t feel tall every time I wear heels. I don’t remember hanging about with people shorter than me today either. At 5ft 2in (I’ve sadly just measured myself and I’m 5ft 2 and half inches – that half makes all the different!), I’ve always been short but I have a few friends who are the same height as me so I don’t feel as short anymore. All during my school years I was the short one, I just got taller very slow and caught up with everyone else so nowadays I’m not always ‘shorty’. Not that shorty was ever my nickname – that was Sparky!

One of my issues with being short was my confidence which in turn made me always look at the ground and I never held my head high. This did mean that I never stepped in dog poo! Now I always tried to stand tall, look ahead with my head held high and my shoulders back. Whenever I see someone with a really rounded back it automatically makes me stand straight. My old yoga teacher was forever trying to get me to relax my shoulders but I always carried so much on them that they were never relaxed. Maybe that’s why I gave up yoga – running and ice-skating seem to be having a better effect. I have often thought about taking classes in the Alexander Technique which is meant to help with posture. For now I will have to make do with ‘tall days’ and trying to imagine that I have a book balanced on my head.

1 Response to “Walking Tall”


  1. 1 Jack Martin June 25, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Definitely check out Alexander Technique lessons or classes – they’re worth the cost! They have a great website at http://alexandertechnique.com


Leave a Reply

Archives


