Independence Day – an English view

As today is 4th July and Independence Day I thought I should write something about it from an English point of view. My main view of Independence Day is that I don’t have one – hah! What I mean is that until quite recently it slipped under the covers by the media and everyone I know. No one in the UK mentions it unless they work for an US company and everyone sighs with the relief of having a quiet day at work. I’m sure the US companies think the same when the British are on bank holidays. My earliest memory of Independence Day comes is from a nightclub that I used to go to that was called Independance – actually this has nothing to do with 4th July but a good play on words. Then there was the Independence Day film starring Will Smith – never seen it so haven’t got a clue if it is to do with 4th July but I have a feeling it isn’t.

I still don’t know what it is all about as it wasn’t taught in history classes – the British are very good at hiding their failures. But I’ve heard it was about the English ruling the Americans and when celebrating there is lots of BBQs and fireworks. Sounds like a good day out to me – our public holidays are never celebrated in that way. Most people leave the country as soon as possible over the bank holidays. The British are not very patriotic except while aboard on boozy Spanish holidays singing ‘Three Lions On My Shirt’. Everything always involves football for some reason. Anyway, Happy Independence Day if you are celebrating it!

2 Responses to “Independence Day – an English view”


  1. 1 Michael July 4, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Having spent three years in England, and a few weeks of that in Germany, I can relate that we use the 4’th as an excuse to get together with friends and family.

    We do not do it quite as well as those in the European community, but we try. I thought Guy Falks day was a good comparison to our 4’th in what we do.

  2. 2 Michelle Best July 5, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Thanks for your comment.

    I had forgotten about 5th Nov and the fireworks – I suppose because it isn’t a public holiday. Would make a great public holiday though.


Leave a Reply

Archives


