Blog stats and search

I think I may have written about this before but I do find blog stats and search results for this blog intriguing. There is no rhyme nor reason behind any one day – some days I get tons of hits (what I mean by tons isn’t huge by other blog stats) and other days just the odd few. My top day was on Wednesday 25 June and I had 64 page views, the following day it was 40. Since then it has been up and down like a yo-yo from 7 views and back up to 50. I gather I have regular viewers to maintain my blog even getting off the ground everyday but as to the 40+ page views who knows. My top viewed page is the ‘About’ page which I can understand – after that it’s the post about Banksy and the London Elections followed by ’10 things about me’ and ‘The 100 Big Read’. My ‘White Jeans and photos’ comes after that. The White Jeans and Banksy posts were not ones that I thought would have got me top marks. I sometimes write about what has happened on the news or about technology thinking these would get good marks but no, its about a guerrilla artist, politics, clothing and photos. Perhaps people were expecting semi-naked photos of me in white jeans!

Maybe it’s down to the tags that are searched on net – obviously Banksy and White Jeans are good tag to use. I read some other blogs and some of them add loads of tags to their posts – maybe that is the secret to more page views. Maybe the subject matter is the real key so as a social experiment by mentioning lots of celebrities and politicians. Then I will add these to my tags to see what sort of results I get. So here it goes: David Beckham, Heath Ledger, Madonna, Guy Ritchie, Jay-Z, Meryl Streep, Chris Martin, Michael Cain and Posh. Blimey, a few years ago I used to buy all the ‘gossip’ mags but today I had to do a bit of research on ThisisLondon showbiz page to find out who the top celebs are at the moment. As for politicians I can only mentioned Barack Obama or John McCain as I’m not sure if Gordon Brown or Harriet Harman will get me anywhere. So lets see what happens…

2 Responses to “Blog stats and search”


  1. 1 Dan P July 16, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I read your blog through Google Reader, so I assume that isn’t counted in your page view count. Or is it? I’m not sure.

    If you get a high number of views for this, you won’t know if its because of the list of celebs, or if it is because you’ve written “semi-naked photos of me in white jeans”… I think you’re guaranteed a pretty good result though!

  2. 2 Michelle Best July 16, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Page views through the readers is counted as syndicated views so every one is counted. Bit of luck that, otherwise my view count would be very low!

    Not sure if the idea of semi-naked photos of me in white jeans would actually make this post a high hitter, more likely to turn people off.


Leave a Reply

Archives


