Sweaty Betty

I wonder where the saying Sweaty Betty comes from… well anyway that was me on the way home today. After spending the day in an air conditioned office, even at times it was way too chilly (until I opened the window to let in some warm air), getting on tube with an outside temp of 28 degrees was a flippin nightmare. Fifteen minutes of hell, literally – if I believed in heaven and hell then I would imagine the tube in a heatwave is hell and everyone who is bad comes back as pigeons. Not big fat wood pigeons but the scrawny London pigeons. Sorry, lost the plot there over what this post is about but I could easily rant on about religion. I won’t do that until I decided to give this blog up and lose most of my readers in one go.

My real issue is that I’m such a sweat bucket when it gets a bit hot, I’m sure I sweat more like a man than a nice young lady. Just on the tube I can feel the sweat running down my back and front – now I know what a bra is really for – to catch the sweat! When running, even on a cool day, I get home so hot and sweaty that it is embarrassing. I’ve been to fitness classes in the past and the sweat is tickling down my face and there will be other women in the class looking that they aren’t even doing an exercise class – that sort of just-step-out-of-the-salon look. It’s just not fair. Sorry to everyone for the very un-ladylike imagine that I have just portrayed, hope you don’t have nightmares! Luckily my fast train home is air conditioned so that gives me a chance to cool down before walking home. Apparently the weather is meant to change tomorrow but the tube will still be the hottest place in London.

2 Responses to “Sweaty Betty”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble July 28, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    My office isn’t air conditioned…well not if you don’t count the 1 window that opens about a centimeter. In an open office with 5 other people it’s sweatastic!

    Don’t worry, the summer will only last a week. It’ll be winter before we know it 😉

  2. 2 Michelle Best July 29, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Thanks for the comment – I think summer has already ended, now that was short and sweet!


Leave a Reply

Archives


