Tess of the d’Urbervilles and A Town Like Alice

A quick update on the 100 Big Read. I have now read 72 books of the Big Read and the books I have just read were A Town Like Alice and Tess of the d’Urbervilles. Tess of the d’Urbervilles took me ages to get through which was odd as it’s not a huge book and a great story but there was just days when I could not face reading it. It is definitely one of those books that needs to be read continuously, one day off from not reading (like if I had to stand on the train) and it was hard to get back in to. After my holiday I made a promise to myself to finish the book and I spent one Sunday finishing the book. The actual story is brilliant, with Victorian morals being raised at a time when it was taboo to be an unmarried mother. Even though it is a good book, I don’t think it will be one of my favourites from the 100 Big Read.

A Town Like Alice was fantastic and a really easy read. It took me only about a week and an half to finish and I enjoyed it so much that I read it at the weekends. I don’t normally read at the weekends as there is too much other stuff going on or I feel like I should be doing the housework instead of reading. I would recommend this book to anyone and because of that I’m not going to mention the storyline on here. I don’t watch to spoil it for anyone.

I’m not reading a book from the list at the moment but my next book will either be War and Peace or Dune by Frank Herbert. Can’t make up my mind yet as which book to start first, and with my OU course now on its way I have a lot coursework reading to concentrate on as well. I need a longer train journey to fit it all in…

0 Responses to “Tess of the d’Urbervilles and A Town Like Alice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


