The new WordPress dashboard

WordPress have radically changed the dashboard layout for writing blogs and I’m still not sure about it but like everything in life, change sometimes takes a bit of getting used to. The actual layout has a very nice look and feel to it, in muted tones of grey and blue with movable boxes that house the Tags and Categories. I have only been using it for two days but I have two workflow issues with it – the “new post” link seems to be hidden. Not really hidden but it’s in the Post section which I have to keep maximised so I can see the “Add New” link. I’m sure before (it’s surprising how easy it is to forgot what it used to look like) there was a much more prominent link/button for adding a new post. My other issue with it is the size of the actual place where the text is written for the blog. It feels almost half the size from what it was before. Not everyone will think this but I’m one of the sensible people out there who write directly in to the WordPress interface as oppose to writing it in MS Word. I would expect this section to be a little bit wider on the screen.

As always with something new I knew it was going to happen by all the announcements from WordPress on the dashboards and Twitter but I chose to ignore them until the event happened. On Friday I used the WordPress app on my iPod touch to write that post so I didn’t notice the changes until Saturday. It was a bit like buying a new gadget and throwing the manual away and then trying to work out how it works. Frustration sets in, not over the new design but that I should have been more prepared. Honestly though I’m never prepared for anything! So I’m still learning my way around this new design but at least I can still publish my rambling words, thankfully I’m not that stupid to work out where the Publish button has gone!

PS – I see that WordPress still haven’t managed to change the spell check to recognise blog, blogs, blogger, or WordPress. Odd!

2 Responses to “The new WordPress dashboard”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble December 11, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I haven’t used it too much yet, but it looks quite nifty to me. I use Windows Live Writer to write posts when I’m at home, have a look at that, it’s a very good blog program.

  2. 2 Michelle Best December 11, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    I’m actually get used to it now and it is quite stylish. I might have a look at Windows Live Writer but anything with Windows in the title does scare me! I’m turning in to a techie snob about Microsoft 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


