I’m turning in to Scrooge

Christmas is fastly approaching and I’m turning in to Scrooge as I get older. As I said to a friend today I thought having nieces around would make it more fun. But now that the oldest is eight and with two other nieces and now nephew on the scene it just seems to get worse. It seems kids are just so spoilt these days that I’m sure I’m the boring Auntie by buying them books and clothes instead of the latest toy or electronic game. Every Christmas always seems the same to me now – the same food, same people and the same places. All the rushing around beforehand to buy presents and wrapping them up, buying cards and writing them then queuing up to buy stamps and hoping to get them posted out in time. Putting up the tree and lights just so no one gets to see them. No one ever comes round to our house at Christmas as we are always going to other family members homes.

One day I will get away for Christmas and won’t have to endure the same old same old – hopefully without upsetting family members too much. Maybe I should plan it now for next year, ummmm maybe a trip to New York City could be fun or maybe Iceland or even Ireland. I will have to have a think about that and mention it to family members after they have had one too many drinks of Cherry Brandy on Christmas Day! My final two words about Christmas is Bah Humbug!!

1 Response to “I’m turning in to Scrooge”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble December 15, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Don’t worry I started turning bah-humbug a few weeks ago! It’s all a chore and I know exactly what you mean, I’m the same myself, even with the nephews and nieces too.

    I don’t even put a tree/decorations up, beat that! Nothing like getting into the spirit of things eh! 😀


Leave a Reply

Archives


