New Year Resolutions

As ever with the New Year it’s that time again for everyone to make some New Year Resolutions.  I normally don’t make them, well I do but it’s normally not to make any resolutions.  I didn’t make any last year and I managed to achieve quite a lot – going back to ice-skating, taking up running, couple of web design courses and learning about making cocktails.  Then it all went a bit wrong towards the end of 2008 except for the cocktail making, so I’m going to make a few resolutions, which are to go back to ice-skating & running and learn to code.  I could add a few more to those like stop worrying about my health so much and trying to overcome my shyness at company meetings.  I would also quite like to stop feeling so much fear about changing things or doing new things – like a bungee jump (maybe).  A lot of my fears and stresses are all self-inflicted and I need to change that but then again, a few people keep telling me that is who I am. But I don’t want to spend the rest of my life worrying about a slight headache being a brain tumour or worrying about what people think about me or thinking that I have wasted my life by fear and then getting to my eighties and going “if only I had done that”.  So these are my New Year Resolutions or challenges for 2009, which makes them sound more doable than New Year Resolutions.

Most of the “normal” resolutions that seemed to be in the papers and magazines are giving up smoking, cut down on drinking, get fit by joining a gym and eat healthy.  I always think these ones are laughable as I’m sure most people give up on these after a couple of weeks. I don’t smoke so that one doesn’t apply, I enjoy drinking my cocktails too much and I’m not in to binge drinking so I think I’m fine there, I’m find the gym really boring so there is no way I’m paying £50 a month for that privilege and I like to think I eat quite healthy anyway. It’s only the holiday season that causes the unhealthiness to shine, with too much yellow food about the house (cakes, biscuits, crisps etc). So I hope everyone has good resolutions or challenges for 2009, or if you don’t like resolutions then that is even better as you most probably enjoy life and extremely happy with everything!

3 Responses to “New Year Resolutions”


  1. 1 slimmindcoach January 1, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    I really liked what you had to say here. I think that often New year’s resolutions don’t work. There is nothing behind them that will compel us to move forward. However, vision and direction for the year to come will pull us toward it. That sounds so much easier to me than pushing away from something don’t ya think? 🙂

    Just a suggestion: How about adding to your list learning some techniques for short circuiting those fears a little quicker so you don’t waste as much time worrying.

    There are some great ones that work very quickly such as EFT (emotional freedom technique) http://www.emofree.com

    I think most of us spend some time in fear, doubt and worry. But it has become my goal to get faster at shifting out of that.

    Have a very a happy and worry free New Year!!

  2. 2 andeeroo January 1, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    MJ – you will conquer more in 2009

    check out the good, the bad and the ugly of new year’s resolutions –

    andeeroo.wordpress.com/

  3. 3 Michelle Best January 2, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    slimmindcoach – many thanks for the comment and I’ll take a look at the site. Short circuiting my fears a bit quicker would be great so thanks again. Have a worry free 2009 as well!

    andeeroo – thanks and I’ll check out your site soon. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Archives


