Pet hates and too much self-evaluating

Two things that bug me that other people do, actually it’s three things. The first thing is women who don’t wash their hands after being to the toilet. I can’t say people as I don’t loiter around the Gents often but since moving to an office with communal toilets I’ve noticed that a few ladies don’t wash their hands or if they do, then it must be quick and they don’t use the hand dryer. Yuk! Always make me dubious about opening the bathroom door afterwards. Second thing is coughing and not using your hand to cover your mouth. I can understand while on the tube holding on for dear life and holding a collection of bags in the other hand. That’s when I try to suppress the cough and end up nearly choking. It’s when people are trying to cough up their guts and don’t put their hand to their mouth that gets me. The third thing is litter. I can’t stand people who drop litter – this is definitely a pet hate of mine. Which is why my bag and coat pockets are full of rubbish – bits of paper, tissues, receipts and the odd mint that has escaped it’s packaging. Sometimes I do feel like I’m still a child with all the rubbish that I carry around.

Today, I’ve also realised that I’m not very opinionated or maybe I don’t know how to express myself very well. Or just too plain nice and think my opinions don’t matter. Anyway, I don’t think I can change this and maybe I don’t want to but it feels frustrating at times. All this self-evaluating isn’t good. I must think happy and good thoughts, more on these lines – I was really pleased about my graphics for the website today and I’ve been asked to create some more for a different project. Also, being asked my thoughts on our home page was nice even if I couldn’t think of anything straight away. I like to ponder on these things which normally means I miss the boat on the idea front. See I’m being negative again, ah boo! Positive thoughts…

2 Responses to “Pet hates and too much self-evaluating”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble January 21, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    I’m similar to you in a way, I’ve been told a few times in the past to speak up for myself – my boss even sent me on a 1 day Assertiveness course a few years ago. What a pile of poo that was!

    I just don’t get that worked up abut stuff, especially in work…it’s just work! I worry about making a fool of myself, so unless I’m completely sure I know what I’m talking about I’ll keep quiet rather than risk it!

  2. 2 Michelle Best January 23, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Yes, I completely agree with you – it is easier to keep quiet then thinking about making a fool of myself. Anyway, I work with some great people who are very encouraging about me speaking up so I keep trying but there are still days when I don’t feel I can do it.


Leave a Reply

Archives


