The Year of the Ox

Happy Chinese New Year! Today is the beginning of the Year of the Ox and I found out that this is my year. Woowho! I was born in the Year of the Ox, way back in 1973! Not that I know what it means for it to be my year as an Ox (do I have to go out and buy an Ox?) but after a quick search on Wikipedia I’ve found out all the attributes of being an Ox. Apart from having four legs and some rather impressive horns… oops, wrong type of Ox. The Ox is the sign of prosperity through fortitude and hard work.  All good so far and the rest of the page on Wikipedia seems good as well but as with Star Signs I take these things with a pinch of salt. Still it’s nice to see that I’m dependable, calm and modest. Patient and tireless in their work. Apparently, I’m a born leader and possess an innate ability to achieve great things, strong-minded, stubborn, individualistic, intelligent and when necessary, articulate and eloquent. As with all Wikipedia articles sometimes there are quite a few repeated facts but it sounds like I’m hard working, patient, with original intelligence(!) and reflective thoughts.

I quite like the phrase “The possibility of taking a serious risk could cause the Ox sleepless nights” – maybe that’s why I’m useless at taking risks. Other parts of it I do see in myself – sincere, honesty and patience. Not sure if I am wary of new trends, maybe I am. Surprisingly and most probably to great excitement to my friends who are always badgering me about kids, people born in the year of the Ox make wonderful parents and teachers of children. I would put that down solely to being patient from my experience with my nieces. It is quite interesting that it also says that Ox people are sociable and relaxed when they feel secure, which is actually very true about me. It also says that occasionally a dark cloud looms over such people and they engage all the trials of the whole world and seek solutions for them. It’s all interesting stuff and does make me feel a bit better about myself in a strange ego way, even the idea of being stubborn, possessive, gullible and materialistic doesn’t sound too bad to me especially when I read the positive traits: responsible, dependable, honest, caring, honourable, intelligent, artistic, industrious and practical. Maybe this will be a good year then for all people born as an Ox – how exciting!

0 Responses to “The Year of the Ox”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


