Background noise and the Twitter Comedy Club

So today started off bad by not having the ability to get out of bed on time and then in my rush to get out the door I had forgotten my iPod headphones. Which meant I had to listen to other people on the train while reading my book. A year ago this never bothered me at all and I was quite happy to sit on the train without any music to disguise the background noise. On the way home was even worse – people coughing and squeezing, talking on their mobiles and the guy next to me heavy breathing. I am assuming that he must have run for the train or had asthma, anyway after about ten minutes it got quite annoying. I kept checking my bag just in case the headphones miraculously appeared in my bag. Actually my new bag for work is very much like a Mary Poppins carpet bag – very deep and I can’t find anything very easily, so my headphones could have been in there. Alas, they did not appear. Anyway, I found them at home and have put them in my bag already so I don’t have to have another day without them.

I’d been meaning to write about this for a few days now – the Twitter Comedy Club. I am guessing that most people who read blogs know about Twitter and to be honest I’m not going to write out how it works to those who don’t – here is a good video about it instead. Nowadays I have three types of “friends” on Twitter – my real friends who I actually know in person, my Twitter friends who I wouldn’t know from Adam if I bumped in to them in the street and British comedians who have joined Twitter. Stephen Fry started it and his tweets are a joy to read.  John Cleese is on there but he doesn’t tweet much. Then Jonathan Ross joined and somehow he has managed to get Russell Brand to join. Alan Carr is on there and Wossy confirmed it was the real Alan Carr and not a fake. All these comedy tweets are fun and add a bit of light relief to the day.  I’m hoping a few more comedians joined to keep me laughing. It’s almost like a free Comedy Club!

1 Response to “Background noise and the Twitter Comedy Club”


  1. 1 Stastypathe November 24, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Wow, I did not know about that up to the present. Thankz.


Leave a Reply

Archives


