How do you eat your eggs?

Scrambled is my favourite especially when it is on English muffins.  I’ve never always been a great fan of eggs. The only egg dish I remember while growing up was egg and soldiers, which I do still love (not had it in a while, though) but I have this strange phobia of solid egg white. I think it is the texture of egg white that I don’t like – odd, I know.  That’s why I like scrambled eggs and omelettes. I like egg mayo as well but have to force myself to eat the large pieces of egg white.  I do love a bit of the yummy yellow egg yolk though which is what soldiers were made for.

I remember when I first realised that I liked egg mayo sandwiches and being able to have another choice at lunchtime apart from cheese or tuna sandwiches. Then I had my cholesterol tested and this being quite a few years ago I was told by the nurse that I should cut down on eggs! The recommended amount was three eggs a week. So for years I have monitored my egg intake but with a slight skepticism as I also check everything else that contains saturated fat and cheese contains so much more sat fat than eggs. Imagine my surprise when a news report came out last week saying that the amount of cholesterol in eggs is so insignificant that it is now OK to eat eggs!  This is great news but I still wonder how the Food Standards Agency can keep changing their recommendations on what you can and can’t eat.  Moderation is the best way but there are times when that extra drink or piece of chocolate (or extra egg) is what is needed in life to make us happy!

2 Responses to “How do you eat your eggs?”


  1. 1 sportylise February 22, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I eat my eggs; fried, scrambled, heard boiled with toast, and in
    omelettes.

  2. 2 Kate W February 22, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I eat Creme Eggs myself, does that count?


Leave a Reply

Archives


