What do nine year olds like these days?

On Wednesday it will be my niece’s ninth birthday and as part of her present I would like to get her some books but what to get her. As far as I can tell she seems to like High School Musical or fairy-style books, but I would like to get her some of the books that I like when I was her age. Now half of me expects her family to already have the books I’m thinking of and the other half of me is not sure my niece would read them.  My favourite books from the early years that I can actually remember enjoying to read were: The BFG by Roald Dahl; Malory Towers by Enid Blyton; The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis; and the Nancy Drew mysteries.  I think the Nancy Drew mysteries is what started my love for murder mysteries by Agatha Christie and to thrillers by Jefferey Deaver.

Since beginning the Big Read there are a wealth of children’s book that I would like to get my nieces but I’m still not sure if they would read them. From Little Women, Swallows and Amazons, Black Beauty, to Goodnight Mister Tom. One of my nieces didn’t look too excited when I got her Anne of Green Gables for Christmas.  Maybe I should really get her a game for the DS as the computer games do seem to get their attention more than anything. That is the problem with getting old – trying to get kids to like what you liked when you was younger. From the ZX Spectrum computer, old boards games and cartoons like Tom & Jerry.  Maybe there is just too much for kids to keep them entertained from computer games, TV shows, DVDs (portable DVD players in cars) to those soft play areas that I know a few friends take their kids to. The other day my best friend and I were discussing how kids have to be kept entertained all the day and both of us remembered that we had to find things to do ourselves or being dragging around net curtain shops with our mums!

0 Responses to “What do nine year olds like these days?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


