Some humour

One of my friends mentioned yesterday that I need to cheer up my blog maybe by adding a joke a day. Well, I don’t know enough jokes to write one a day but I thought I would write a few humourous things for today’s piece.  Then again, I don’t think I can write humour – I will leave that to Ben Elton, Ricky Gervais and Eddie Izzard to do that. So I’m trying to think of the funny things that have happened over the past week. I’ve sneakily put War & Peace to one side for the time being and am reading Bill Bryson, The Lost Continent.  While on the train the other night I realised my sense of humour is really like a teenage boys especially after I had to stop myself my laughing out loud at this “my brother, once built a short-wave radio from old baked bean cans and that sort of thing, and late at night when we were supposed to be asleep he would lie in bed in the dark twiddling his knob (so to speak), searching for distant stations”.  For some reason that had me in giggles (silently) on the train.

I can’t really think of anything else that has happened to me that was funny this week but I have a collection of funny artists that I like to watch on YouTube a lot. Eddie Izzard is one – I have seen nearly all his stand-up videos thanks to YouTube. Michael McIntyre is another comedian that I find very funny (I have tickets to see him live in November at the O2).  I just love the fact that Google Video and YouTube house so many great things for me to watch when I like. When I’m feeling a bit down I can watch ten minutes of Eddie Izzard and then I feel so much better.  My podcasts do the same – some light relief on the train when travelling to work.  Laughter and fun is such a good medicine for my anxious mind – which is hard to find in these modern times when everyone is busy working and looking after their own families. Perhaps I need to create my own humour – starting with trying to think to a joke. Knock, Knock. Who’s there? Doctor. Doctor Who? Doctor Who – get it ‘Doctor Who’.  I know it’s an old joke but still makes me smile.

4 Responses to “Some humour”


  1. 1 Kate W March 28, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    How about this?

    Knock knock.
    Who’s there?
    I dunnup.
    I dunnup who?

    Classic, get’s ’em every time!

  2. 2 Mark March 28, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Why did the boy take a pencil to bed?
    because he wanted to draw the curtains!!

  3. 3 Jo March 29, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Why do birds fly south for the winter?
    Because its too far to walk

  4. 4 Nicola April 3, 2009 at 11:34 am

    A woman walks into a bar and asks for a double entendre – so the barman gave her one. Boom, boom.


Leave a Reply

Archives


