The Prodigy

Last night I went to see The Prodigy at Wembley Arena with Dizzee Rascal as the warm-up.  I saw the Prodigy at the V Festival last year and they were fantastic.  We were up in the heavens but on the right hand side of the arena so we could see the stage really well.   Still it seemed a long way down from all the way up there.  Dizzee Rascal was good and got the standing crowd going. The base from some of his set was so loud that is went right through you and made it feel like your heart missed a beat (or added a few extra).  After Dizzee there was a break with a DJ but it seems to go on for ages. Almost 45 mins until the Prodigy came on which made the crowd in the standing area a bit restless.  Then all of a sudden they came on to the most loudest cheer I have ever heard.

I’m trying to remembering the opening song but I can’t. They did play Breathe, Smack My Bitch Up, Firestarter, Poision, Invaders Must Die, Warrior’s Dance, Diesel Power with a big finish of Out of Space. There isn’t a great amount of words in Prodigy songs but for what there was the crowd knew them all. I’ve never been to a gig especially as large as Wembley Arena were the whole venue was singing along and could be heard over the music. In all it was a great night except for the overwhelming heat – it must have been over 40 degrees Celsius in the building. At the end of the night the stairs were all slippy from the condensation and most probably sweat.  It kind of put me in a foul mood after a while as I don’t really like the oppressive heat but it was worth it to see them again.  At least being at the back I didn’t get covered in beer as what happened at the V Festival – that is just grim.

2 Responses to “The Prodigy”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble April 19, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Glad you enjoyed them. I love seeing bands where the bass goes right through you.
    Even though I seen them in December, I’m hope that Prodigy will play Glastonbury this year so I can see them again.

  2. 2 Michelle Best April 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    I can’t wait for Glastonbury, even though I will be watching it from the comfort of my TV – hopefully the Prodigy will be playing there for you.


Leave a Reply

Archives


