The art of swearing

Swearing, cursing, cussing whatever you would like to call it but we all do it at one time or another. Some more than most. My own view is there is normally a good reason for swearing. Mainly around work or anything to do with Microsoft but it’s good to let off some steam by either swearing at the laptop or in the special cursing room (chatroom). If I am feeling really frustrated I will go to the toilet and say a lot of f**ks to myself like Hugh Grant does at the beginning of Four Weddings and a Funeral. Now, for some reason I don’t really feel the need to swear on my blog, the odd bloody or bugger but they are tame swear words. Swearing while talking, if in the right context just happens without even realising it though I’m always careful around other peoples kids.

I remember a while ago my family were around my house and my niece wanted to play her High School Musical CD and I said no (ain’t I mean!) and left my Scissor Sisters album playing instead. It wasn’t until I got my iPod touch a few months later that I realised how much swearing is on there – heh. Oh well, no one complained on the night. Which brings me nicely to swearing on songs – some albums have lots of cussing (Amy Winehouse for example) while others don’t. It’s only at parties with young kids that I have to remember which ones do contain swearing otherwise it is part of the song and wouldn’t have the impact that it does. Here is an uncensored version of some of those songs on my iPod so cover your eyes if you don’t want to see any swearing.

Amy Winehouse – Mr & Mrs Jones: “What kind of fuckery is this?”

Scissor Sisters – I Can’t Decide: “Fuck and kiss you both at the same time”

Conor Oberst – Spoiled: “Everytime I fucked her mind”

The Prodigy has a lot of swearing but that’s on the live tracks that I have on my iPod. I’m sure there are plenty others but you get my point.

2 Responses to “The art of swearing”


  1. 1 Ezee-T August 25, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    My friends think I swear too much. I usually tell them too fuck off and lately I’ve been thinking up new cuss words just to piss them off.

    What I’ve noticed is swearing isn’t limited to just fucks, shits, assholes and cunts. There are worse things to call a person that don’t use the standard cuss words.

  2. 2 ISE April 7, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Swearing is part of everyday conversation and has a clear place in the art of communication.
    Swear words have such a variety of meanings that it can be very difficult to understand what is meant.
    The best way to understand what is meant is to observe examples of how the language is used.


Leave a Reply

Archives


