School reunion – class of 89

On Saturday night I went to my school reunion at a local pub. Eek, I’m not sure about this was my initial reaction but my best friend persuaded me that it would be good to go.  On the actual day my best friend was having doubts but after having my hair cut and my hairdresser telling me to go (just for a laugh) we decided to brave it and go.  So off we went – both of us feeling slightly apprehensive and unfortunately my best friend had to drive because she was going to drive back to east London afterwards. As with all these situations we went straight to the bar and then decided to see who we could spot in the crowds.  Luckily I spotted an old school friend who I had met up with last year and we wandered outside. Also, thankfully it was quite a mild night so standing outside seemed to give the evening a pleasant feel to it.  Then we saw everyone else, well not everyone that was in my year but there must have been about 25 of us. Quite a good turn out I thought – slightly lacking in the boys department as there was only three of them.

Anyhow, it was funny to talk to people who I haven’t seen in 20 years – recognising them was the easy bit (except for one girl who I apparently was in our year – who knew that), but what to say to them. I thought it would all be about who was married, divorced, how many children, what you do for a living and where do you live.  Even though some of these came up in conversation it didn’t dominate it. Instead there was lots of trying to remember old teachers and the kids in our year who were the real tearaways and wondering if they were in prison.  I got recognised by everyone to the words “Michelle Sparkes, you haven’t changed a bit!” – I still can’t decide if that is a good thing or not. I’m sure I don’t look like I’m 16 but it’s nice to think that I must have made some sort of impression on my school year. The most classic thing of the year was the fact that one my friends who I’ve kept in touch with over the years brought her husband with her and someone went up to him and said “I know you and you haven’t changed a bit” – my friend said I hope not as he was in Canada at the time we were in school. Not wonder there was a shortage of blokes at the reunion – anyone could have turned up and claimed to be in our year! Here are some photos from the night (nicked from Facebook) – such an odd bunch and who would believe we are all the same age.

Best friend Marina, me and Julia

Best friend Marina, me and Julia

The whole crowd minus me

The whole crowd minus me

I haven't seen any of these 'school friends' in 20 years

I haven't seen any of these 'school friends' in 20 years

Me and a beer (my date for the evening)

Me and a beer (my date for the evening)

0 Responses to “School reunion – class of 89”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


