Normal blood pressure… me?

This morning I went to see the nurse at my doctors for a test that most women have very few years and don’t really like to think or talk about it. Anyhow, while I was there she also took my blood pressure. Now if you know me or have been reading this blog for a while, you would know that I have a phobia of doctors and having my blood pressure taken which normally means my BP is high, resulting in tests etc. This causes my phobia to get worse. Well, my blood pressure was normal. Shock, horror! I think mainly this was because I wasn’t expecting it to be taken but still seeing the machine made me nervous.  One other thing that helped was the fact that I was reading this post about worry while sitting in the doctors waiting (I’m so glad for my ipod touch again) and this seemed to keep me calm. Deep breathing helped as well.

In other good health points I weigh 8 stone (51 kg) and my cholesterol at my last test was 4.7 which I think was great as I last heard it should be under 5. Still the nurse would like to see that lower so I’ve got to have another blood test to test it again. I will have to get this done before I go to Cornwall in a few weeks with all that clotted cream everywhere. So in all it was a good healthy day and to top it off when I got home around 8pm I really felt like I wanted to go for a run.  I haven’t had that feeling in a while so I quickly took the moment and put my running shoes on. Now I’m not a great runner and it’s been a while but at least I did my very short run. It’s a start and I’ve just got to keep it up now.

1 Response to “Normal blood pressure… me?”


  1. 1 Kate W May 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    well done – the key with blood pressure tests is clearly to sneak them up and not let you know in advance! or maybe they could just test your BP every week until you become completely immune to the process – that might work too!


Leave a Reply

Archives


