Television – just buy the TV guide

I’m finding more and more as I get older that I’m not that fussed about watching television anymore. I think it is an age thing as I remember spending Sunday mornings watching Hollyoaks while in bed nursing a hangover. The bad acting and the terrible storylines didn’t tax the brain too much. I’ve not watched a soap opera in about 10 years and find the whole reality shows terrible.  Don’t get me wrong there are some great TV shows out there and with the beauty of Sky+ I can record those shows then watch them when I want. I have a thing for any adaptation by Agatha Christie, CSI (not the Miami one though, which is shockingly bad), some comedies and a variety of fun quiz shows like QI and Have I Got News For You.   The American shows seem to go on for ages with 30-odd episodes in a series while in the UK six episodes is the norm.

The scary thing is about how much time is spent watching TV in a week and I’m too scared to monitor that one.  My husband is normally home before me and he will put the TV on. Film watching is his main thing and by the time I get home the film is finished. This means the TV is left on, not that I really watch much as I’m busy blogging at the same time with my headphones on listening to something else.  I don’t think I would really miss having a TV as anything I would like to watch is either on the BBC iPlayer or on youtube/Google video.  I had started to record The Wire as I had heard it was good – I didn’t even get to watch one episode as the Sky+ box started collecting lots of episodes and I just thought I don’t really want to waste my time watching them. The surprising thing is that I don’t feel like I have missed out on anything. If I really wanted to keep up-to-date with the whole TV world I would buy a TV guide as that would tell me everything I would need to know. Still, I’m not going down that route but watch only the good stuff when I want and maybe even wean myself off those then I could get so much more done with my time.

0 Responses to “Television – just buy the TV guide”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


