The Grapes of Wrath

I finished reading The Grapes of Wrath this morning while sitting in the garden, there was a sudden burst of sunshine so I took the opportunity while it was here. Sometimes I think I’m such a slow reader as it can take me weeks to read a 478 page book. I really should start reading my book more at home but blogging and reading other blogs get in the way most of the time. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading The Grapes of Wrath or ‘Wrath’ as the trailer for the 1940 film that I found on imdb kept calling it. Number 73 off the Big 100 Read list.  This isn’t going to be a book review as there is nothing worse then knowing what happens in a book before reading it and I would recommend anyone who hasn’t read it to go out a buy a copy or go to your local library to get a copy.

The story tells of the real struggle for survival in the country of the free. I have such an open mind that I could see the point from all views, from the migrants to the local Californians. It’s the story of the worse road trip you could think of with the horror of leaving your home behind and taking what belongings you can carry.  Tales of death, courage and sheer determination. A few things will stick with me about this book, the first was John Steinbeck’s clever way of writing the way that the Joad’s spoke especially with using “of” instead the more grammatically correct “have”, something I was picked up on when I was studying at the OU last year.  I’m not complaining though, it is so nice to read a book that is written by the way of the local speech. My phrase of the day comes from the last few pages by Ma Joad, “Women can change better’n a man… Women got all her life in her arms. Man got it all in his head.” And later on Ma Joad says “Jus’ try to live the day, jus’ the day.” As always with a good book I’m always sad when it comes to the end but there are other great books for me to continue to read.

0 Responses to “The Grapes of Wrath”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


