Summer of music

Festival season started with Download a few weeks ago but it gets really going this week with the start of Glastonbury.  Even though I’ve never been to Glastonbury and a day pass at V Festival is the nearest I have been to a festival I get really excited about Glastonbury. Not only does the BBC cover it wonderfully on the TV but it brings out all the new music that I’m desperate to hear and purchase. But it doesn’t stop there as I’ve got two ‘festival’ days to look forward to – Hard Rock Calling this weekend and Blur the following weekend. Both are at Hyde Park and I haven’t got a clue what to expect. All I can hope is that it doesn’t rain or get too hot. I will write about them more after the events.

This evening while clearing up the kitchen I was listening to my husband’s iPod and the Jungle Brothers, I’ll House You came on. Now, I’ve not heard this tune in a very long while. It must be over 10 years old and still sounds great now. I followed this tune up by listening to some ‘lite’ drum and bass. This made me what to download some of our old CDs from the 90s of good house music on to my iPod.  The amazing thing about this is that most of the old CDs from 1999-2004 are just as good now as they were back then and all the dance CDs that have been purchased lately (not by me I hasten to add) are rubbish. Just remixes of all those classic tunes from the 90s. No wonder I listen to different genres of music now – from indie to folk/country – dance music has just stopped being exciting.

0 Responses to “Summer of music”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


