Hard Rock Calling

Yesterday I went to the Hard Rock Calling mini festival in the Hyde Park, London to see Neil Young, Fleet Foxes, Ben Harper, Seasick Steve and The Pretenders. I left home with my friend Sim at about 1pm and travelled up town – in the sweltering heat but being English I’m always prepared for all weathers so I had with me trainers, umbrella, wet coat, sunscreen, straw hat, snack food, water, tissues, scarf, cardigan all in my small rucksack. Well, the hat wasn’t inside the bag as that was clipped to the front of the rucksack. We got to the park at around 2.30pm and The Pretenders was on. We decided to sit on the small bit of shade that we could find for this as I wasn’t that bothered about seeing them up close. Afterwards we saw Seasick Steve, which was just wonderful. A brilliant guitarist, blues singer with a lot of charisma. Then Ben Harper came on and he was good as well. The weather had been great up till when Ben Harper had just finished and then the dark clouds rolled in followed by thunder and lightning, which of course brought the rain. Wet coats and umbrellas came out quick. Luckily it only lasted for about 30 minutes and being as it was so warm we all quickly dried off.

Sunny!

Sunny!

Tarp party during the rain

Tarp party during the rain

The Fleet Foxes were great and then Neil Young came on. The crowd went wild at this point. Now, honestly I have seemed to have missed most of Neil Young’s music during my lifetime but he sure can play the guitar. He played at Glastonbury the night before so I was able to catch some of his music on the TV – handy as I could sing along to a few.  For the encore he sang The Beatles, Day In The Life, which is my favourite Beatles song ever so I was really happy about this and I could sing along.  Then low and behold Sir Paul McCartney run on the stage and sang with Neil Young! The surprise on my friend’s face was classic as was the big cheer from the crowd. A magical moment. In all it was a great day – toilets nice and clean(!), food not too bad except for the price of it and the beer was good. Now for some downloading of Seasick Steve and Neil Young for my ever-growing music collection.

Seasick Steve

Seasick Steve

Ben Harper

Ben Harper

Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes

Neil Young

Neil Young

1 Response to “Hard Rock Calling”


  1. 1 isa June 30, 2009 at 11:02 am

    hello, do you have the video festival? it must be nice to attach here.


Leave a Reply

Archives


