It’s the Journey not the Destination

This is my phrase of the moment, something I borrowed from someone else after reading an article on the BBC site.  I initially thought it would be a good saying for my path of learning that I’m hoping to take but I suppose it would apply to everything in life including life itself. The journey of life until you died, which makes me think of all those ‘no fear’ types in life who take all sorts of risks just in case it’s your last day. Now I’ve got too much fear in my blood to take lots of risks but I totally get the whole it’s about the journey. My journey with running is improving with the destination hopefully being able to run 5K one day. I have many destinations and I’m trying to enjoy all the journeys even though I know some will be tough.

The new big journey now is about getting a degree, for some reason it seems very important to me to get one – maybe it will prove in my mind that I’m not as stupid as I think I am.  I went to the Birkbeck Open Evening last week at some 1970s concrete hotel (I do feel sorry for all those tourists staying there) and got some information on all the part-time courses. I have said before I couldn’t decide between Computer Science and History for a degree. Even though I did the OU course last year I still feel I would like to start this journey with a Certificate course first before moving on to the degree. I have finally managed to make up my mind over the degree choice – History it is.  I felt my maths and scientific mind wasn’t up to much to feel that a degree in IT/Computer Science would be right for me and I have for years and years said I would like to get a degree in History.  So the plan is to start with the Certificate in History, which combines about six short courses over two years and from there I will be ready to start the degree. It is also possible that if I do well on the Certificate I would be able to jump forward to the 2nd year on the degree. I also would like to take the Web Design Certificate as well – 4 or 6 short courses that would take two years as well. So my journey will begin with one history course hopefully starting in the autumn and the web design course starting in the new year. It’s going to be a long time to get to my destination but the journey will be interesting, fun and a lot of hard work.

5 Responses to “It’s the Journey not the Destination”


  1. 1 Kate W July 1, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Well done for making the decision! (and the right one I think!)

    Don’t forget to plunder the DRW History Lending Library….!

  2. 2 Nicola July 1, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Great news, Michelle. I’m sure you will find the whole process of being a student stimulating and rewarding. I have been surprised how much I have enjoyed research and learning how to study. Even though I have a degree – this time around I feel I have committed to the process of learning quite differently and got much more out of it.

    See you in the library or the coffee shop sometime!

    Nic

  3. 3 Jo July 1, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Yay! So glad you plumped for history – definitely the best choice in my mind! Congrats ; -)

  4. 4 Cynical Scribble July 1, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Whoo Hoo, glad you’ve got that decision sorted at last, hope it goes well 🙂

  5. 5 Michelle Best July 2, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Thanks everyone for the comments – makes my decision seem even more positive now 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


