Proper Housewife

Surprisingly I was a proper housewife today and I will explain more soon with a proper diary entry but I must write about my experience at the beauty therapist first. Early this morning, well early for me (8.15am) I had an appointment for a facial and fifteen minutes of Reiki. The facial started off well, and then my therapist decided that I needed ‘grounding’. By this she placed her hands on my feet and made me visualize a happy place with some deep breathing. To be honest I had problems focusing on a happy place, maybe I wasn’t relaxed enough or I need to find that happy place, anyway while she was doing this I had the most weirdest experience ever. It wasn’t pleasant either – I felt like I was floating or falling off the bed I was on. It was like being dizzy but not, it’s hard to explain. I didn’t like it and had to open my eyes to fix a point on something and deep breathe to calm myself. After a few minutes she went back to the facial and started the Reiki – this made the odd sensation go away but after that I found it difficult to feel calm. My therapist said I must be so tense that the feeling came from my body relaxing. Now that doesn’t really help me to know that as I hate feeling odd or strange things happening to me but I am going back in a couple of weeks for a back and shoulder massage and some more Reiki. She said that my shoulders are so tense that she had to be careful not to hurt me with the shoulder massage after the facial. I have a feeling that this relaxing malarkey will take a long time.

So, that was the first part of my day. After that I got home and after analysing my experience at the beauty therapist I got myself out the house and did the food shopping. Two supermarkets – Aldi for the cheap fresh fruit and veg, then on to Waitrose for everything else. When I got back it was after 1pm and I was starving, so I had a quick lunch before putting everything away in their rightful place. After this I emptied the dishwasher, cleaned the bathroom and hoovered everywhere. Three lots of clothes washing later and picked up the dry cleaning, I then had an errand to run. A friend of mine parents had an old pine bookcase that they were selling so I had a 20 minute drive to go and see it. It was just right for the hallway (once I have painted it) so I paid £20 and popped in to the back of the car. As soon as I got home I went for a 10 minute run and then my husband got home from work. I then went and got dinner started. I made a warm salad with roasted butternut squash with goats cheese on warm bread with onion chutney. It was delicious if I don’t say so myself. Then I made a cocktail for myself – a Murricane (watermelon, basil, bourbon, St Germain and lemon), and it was lovely. After all that I’m now knackered but I have another cocktail (an Old Fashioned) while writing this and today has felt like a proper housewife day and I quite enjoyed it.

0 Responses to “Proper Housewife”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


