Rhubarb gathering

I was on a mission today and that was to make some rhubarb syrup. I’ve seen this on some cocktail recipes and as we have a huge rhubarb plant in the garden I thought why not. So I started off at the source of the recipe with the plant.

Rhubarb... it is under there I can assure you

Rhubarb... it is under there I can assure you

Then I picked it, cleaned it and chopped it up in to small pieces.

Gathered

Gathered

Wash time

Wash time

Ready for the chop

Ready for the chop

Now it was time for the cooking – I found loads of recipes for rhubarb syrup on the internet but all of them were in American measurements so I had to convert them and generally just guess the quantities.

1lb – rhubarb
4oz – sugar
and roughly one cup of water

Bring to the boil and then left to simmer for about 20 minutes.

On the boil

On the boil

After sieving the mushed up contents from the saucepan and I was left with this and this.

Cooking done

Cooking done

Bowl of pink nectar

Bowl of pink nectar

The finished result looked like this in their perfect glass containers. The syrup will go in to champagne later and the leftover jam for toast in the morning.

Looking good!

Looking good!

2 Responses to “Rhubarb gathering”


  1. 1 Nicola July 13, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Hey Michelle,

    I noticed that in Asda they sell sets of “Cups” in the cookware section – I was thinking of getting some as I have the same problem with US cookbooks.

    Nicola

    • 2 Michelle Best July 13, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      Hi Nicola – that’s a good idea. Actually thinking about it I think Nigella does a set of cups as well. That is something worth looking in to. Thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


