The Cheese Factor

I love most types of cheese, except the strong blue vein types but if push comes to shove I can eat small amounts of it in the right dish. Cheddar is my favourite especially in a cheese and pickle sandwich. Other favourites are Brie, Port Salut, Red Leicester, Manchego, mozzarella, halloumi and goats cheese to name a few. Dishes with cheese that I love are macaroni cheese, ploughman’s salad, cheese and onion pasties, halloumi and vegetable kebabs and the classic cheese on toast. Being almost a vegetarian, cheese features quite heavily in my diet, well it did until I had my cholesterol tested a few years ago. Now, cheese is a special treat or if I’m having a cheese sandwich then it contains only a small amount of cheese. Also, diary products make me congested so my stubbornness comes out in me  and I keep my dairy intake to a minimum.  At least that makes me appreciative of cheese even more.

Talking of being congested, I’ve been feeling bunged (in the ears and nose department) up all day as well as tired and then an email went around the building at work about someone having swine flu. Then my mind went in to overdrive and I thought maybe I’m ill. Silly, I know and it is only flu, if it was the plague then it would be a different matter. Now, that I’m at home I’m feeling much calmer – my over active mind can really get me down sometimes. Hopefully tonight I will have a much better nights sleep and can start afresh tomorrow. What an odd ending to a post about cheese!

2 Responses to “The Cheese Factor”


  1. 1 Cheese and wine lover August 5, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I have one cheese you should add to your list :)! Old Amsterdam is in my opinion up there with the best blue vein cheeses!

    • 2 Michelle Best August 5, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Thank Cheese and wine lover for the comment. I’ve never tried Old Amsterdam but will have a look out for it. Cheers 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


