Just in case

Maybe it started with the warm weather a few weeks ago or the wet grey weather of today that started it but I really feel like I could be doing something more worthwhile at work instead of what I do. As I have said before what to do instead is another question all together. Or the other option is to do less days and then I can do something else as well as working. The past few weeks I had a few Fridays off and enjoying my time off but if I did four days every week on a more permanent basis I could do so much more than housework. I suppose it is all about learning new skills just in case. I’ve known so many people (including my dad) who has been made redundant lately that it’s good to have other skills, in particular skills that are enjoyable. I’m not saying things are bad at my company but I’m sure I’m not the only one with contingency plans for that ‘just in case’ moment.

One of the things I would like to learn is screen printing fabrics with designs that I have created. I haven’t done this since college but I remember enjoying it. Graphic design is another thing I wouldn’t mind doing – I had better brush up on my Illustrator skills. If I was really desperate I could go back to being a secretary but that would be depressing. Back to my idea of a four-day week then I could use it as a study day for my history course. Actually studying full time sounds ideal but with a mortgage to pay that ain’t going to happen. I think I could survive on less pay for a four-day week and I would save on travel and lunch costs. Actually, working from home full time would save me a hell of a lot of money but would that drive me bonkers. Talking to myself at home as oppose to in the office. Of course, if I was living somewhere with nicer views then the whole working from home would be ideal.

0 Responses to “Just in case”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


