The art of Comments

I don’t get huge amounts of comments but I’m truly thankful for the ones that I do get. As most of my posts are normally me rambling on about how shit I feel or moaning about something I don’t expect comments. Many of the blogs that I read get lots of comments, some with over 100+. Wow, that must be great but then again you have to read them all, approve them if they are new and maybe reply. No wonder these popular bloggers are blogging full-time – just to keep up with the comments. Not all reply to each comment and I must admit if I post a comment then it is nice to see a reply even if it a “thanks for your comment”. I must admit that I haven’t always replied to every comment I get but I do try.

My next thought, which I actually nicked from a fellow “Twit”, was why do some people comment and others don’t. It seems the general rule of thumb is that if I comment on your blog then I expect a comment on mine. This isn’t always the case if you comment on the big blogs but for us normal folks trying to fit in a post when we have the time then a relationship seems to build. Almost like friends chatting by letter. Twitter is kind of the same – there is always those who will chat or answer your questions while others won’t say anything. They are the stalkers, who just like to follow people and never give anything back. I don’t think you can make people comment on your blog unless you want to write a controversial blog like about abortion or religion and all the nutcases will comment.

3 Responses to “The art of Comments”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble September 24, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I’m in stalking mode at the minute (I haven’t posted anything for donkeys!).

    Like you, I try and reply to every comment I get, I think it’s the least I can do as a thanks for someone taking the time to comment. But at the same time I’m not fussed if no one replies to my comments on their blogs either. Horses for courses!

    I don’t get the whole blog etiquette of returning comments on each others blogs. Comment on what you want to comment on, nothing more 🙂

    Although, I don’t comment nearly enough on the blogs I do read. I’ve been reading some of them for months and have never commented on most of them.

    If I do think of something to say then sometimes I’ll think either my comment isn’t worthwhile, or I don’t comment because someone has already said something similar before me and it’s not worth repeating.

  2. 2 Kate W September 25, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Now I feel I should comment, but have nothing very constructive to say! And it’s looking lovely in the garden, the baby’s sleeping, and I’ve just moved the hammock into the sun. So I think I’ll be off!

  3. 3 Michelle Best September 25, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Thank you both for your wonderful comments 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


