Work Trip: nerves and events

I’m currently sitting in my hotel room in Ireland with Autumn Watch on the TV (looking for beavers in Scotland) and trying to work out why I’m here. OK, it’s a work trip and I’m helping out with running an event. I feel I’m here as moral support for the chief event organiser as I’ve not been involved from the start so I don’t really know what is going on. Today I did learn a lot about event organising at the various meetings that I went to but it just made up my mind even more that this role isn’t for me. It doesn’t do well for my stress levels – I’m trying my hardest to calm down and enjoy myself.

Enjoying myself I should do really. The hotel is very elegant with massive rooms (dressing rooms and two sinks in the bathroom), nicely decorated, and touch screens for working the lighting and curtains! The event also consists of lots of eating and drinking, and with only looking after the speakers and helping with the registration desk on Sunday I should really enjoy myself. Can I? I do hope so, I’m fed up with always feeling nervous and highly strung for most of the time.

2 Responses to “Work Trip: nerves and events”


  1. 1 mysticaljett October 7, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I hope you did get a chance to enjoy yourself for it sounds like it was a nice setting if nothing else. At leas the company treated you to good accomodations.

  2. 2 Kate W October 7, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Did you ever work out how to turn the lights on and off? I could do the curtains, but the lights defeated me. This must be a sign that I’m getting old….

    You did a fab job though!


Leave a Reply

Archives


