Google self-destructs

In a technology meeting at work yesterday I threw in the wildcard in technology trends for 2010 by saying that Google will self-destruct. Or as I like to create an image it will be caused by ‘red matter’ and Google will collapse into a blackhole. Only people who have watched the Star Trek film will know what I am going on about. Anyhow, the only reason I thought of the Google self-destruction is that the day before I was thinking about web hosting and how much it costs in the UK. After a bit of searching on Google (of course) I came across Google Sites. Create a website for free! Yes, that is right, it’s free!

A few weeks ago I tried Google Wave, which was really interesting and good for working with other colleagues in real time but with only three people that I know on there it is hard to experiment with. Maybe when it goes ‘live’ it will become useful. My point about self-destruction is that I remember when Google was just a wonderful search engine. When it was the best search engine for it’s quick and correct results with a clean web page. Unlike the Lycos and Yahoo! pages that were full of adverts and news items with rubbish results. Now Google has its fingers in all the pies. Google Mail, Google Documents, Google Maps, Google Labs, Google Pizza etc etc. Of course they don’t make pizzas… yet. Will Google become like Microsoft? Too big for its boots. When Google is everywhere in the world will the cool people find an alternative that was created by a couple of kids in their bedroom? Most probably. I currently use Google for most things and still love it but instead of a war creating the end of the world maybe it will be when Google collapses in on itself then the world will end.

3 Responses to “Google self-destructs”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble December 19, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I think the key point is that people seem to trust Google more than Microsoft. I couldn’t tell you why though, but for me, Mail/Documents/Maps and of course searching are all better than Microsoft’s/Yahoo’s offerings and that’ll do for me.

    Don’t forget they are now branching out into mobile phones: http://www.engadget.com/2009/12/14/exclusive-first-google-phone-nexus-one-photos-android-2-1-on/

    Another 5-10 years we’ll all be using Google Voice on Google phones for free calls. Then they really will own our ass’s!

  2. 2 Michelle Best December 19, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Oh yeah, I had forgotten about the phones! Free calls do sound good though.

  3. 3 mysticaljett December 25, 2009 at 4:33 am

    Not that google doesn’t have some decent stuff but I’ve never been a big fan and always thought their rep was overblown. I think now they know they are getting more competition and it’s one reason you see them trying to diversify but like you I think they will make some missteps. Not so sure the phone thing isn’t one of them.


Leave a Reply

Archives


