I’m still an Atheist, in case you were wondering

After a day of hanging out with the Catholic side of my family (the in-laws), I can confirm that I’m still an atheist. Sadly, it was because of a funeral that I was subjected to a lot of religion but I respect other peoples beliefs and believe in family so it wasn’t an option for me not to go. Though I was feeling particularly agoraphobic about going out the house and I did spend most of the day feeling ‘wobbly’.  The funeral was my first experience of a R.C. service (I have been to a few high Church of England weddings/christenings, which seems the same), and I spent most of the time wondering what the hell was going on. I did come away thinking that I’m grateful my parents were not religious in anyway and I was never christened or taken to church as a child. Now that I can make my own decision I can say that I’m an atheist and I won’t upset my friends who follow a religion by being rude about it. Each to their own as I say.

2 Responses to “I’m still an Atheist, in case you were wondering”


  1. 1 Invisible Mikey February 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I agree with you, even though I think you might be assuming (somewhat) that religion and faith/belief system are the same thing. Perhaps you aren’t. Different sects of Christianity have spilled a lot of blood over dogmatic disagreements.

    C of E and RC both use the mass, but the Anglicans (despite internal controversy) have gay clergy with life partners, female priests and bishops, and allow clergy to be married. That’s kind of a big difference, though as you noted, their services are very similar.

    I don’t care what anyone believes, myself. I care how they act and how they treat people. I estimate people based on their ethics.

    Enjoyable post!

    (I posted about home upgrades, and my love for the guitar.)

    • 2 Michelle Best February 8, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I agree with you that it is how people act and treat others that matters the most. I’m going to have a read about your love for the guitar now.


Leave a Reply

Archives


