London and some light reading

Today, I felt anxious and brave at the same time. I actually travelled in to London this afternoon. On a train and then the tube. Yay for me! OK, I had a travel partner with me in the form of my husband, which was also handy as he helped to carried all my stuff back home. On the way there I felt really anxious and could feel my heart beating loud and fast while I was at the station and on the train. Gradually, I felt calmer the nearer I got to the office but it wasn’t until I was in the office for at least 20 mins before I felt normal. I had a good clear out of all the work stuff I had acquired over the past 12 years and also found some forgotten items like two pairs of shoes, a jumper and a pashmina. Along, with some books, a piggy bank, a teacup and some paperwork (apprisal stuff that I can put through the shredder), it totalled 4 bags. Then as a treat I popped in to Paperchase and got myself some pens and writing paper. I had to feed the addiction I have for stationery.

Hopefully, this means I’m on the right track for getting back to my old self. Another thing that I’m hoping to get back in to and that is reading. I’ve just finished reading Twilight, which was great but for some reason took me ages to finish. I need to get back in to the 100 Big Read list so last week I purchased some books from Amazon: On the Road, Jack Kerouac; The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho; The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy; Love in the time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez; and Brave New World, Aldous Huxley. I also had around the house, Watership Down, Richard Adams; A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving; and The Count of Monte Cristo, Dumas. I think I’m going to start with the new books I have just brought and then sometime in 2011 I will get round to reading the others as well as finishing off War & Peace. Here is to some happy reading!

Light reading for the summer

1 Response to “London and some light reading”


  1. 1 Anna June 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Coelho is in my favourite list as well. Was especially impressed by “Veronica decides to die”


Leave a Reply

Archives


