The Weight Issue

I wish I was talking about my issues with converting American size cup measurements in to metric for recipes (and no, I still haven’t bought any “cups” yet) but my own weight. For years I have been between a size 8 to 10 and a classic pear shape. I’ve never really thought much about it except I’ve always thought my thighs were too big. There was even a time when someone would say “you have lost weight” and I would worry about it (like a had some nasty illness) and then eat more cake to put weight on. That method isn’t great for the arteries though. Now, it has all gone horribly wrong.

Since, my holiday to America last September I have gradually been putting the weight on. Holidays do that to a person but with my anxieties over going out, the lack of interest to run and then working at home from late December with days not even going out the house, it has now got to a stage where my jeans and skirts don’t fit. Bummer. It can’t help with all this home baking that I like doing so much as well. Exercise is the key, I know that. I’ve just got to get my confidence back up so I will get out and run again. I’m working on walking fast for 15-20 minutes a day but even that has taken a knock the past few days with a killer headache and looking after a convalescing puppy. I keep thinking I should stop drinking alcohol for a few weeks to lose weight but I enjoy my cocktails and beer at the weekend too much and that would just fuel rumours about pregnancy. It’s all about my self-esteem to get out there and exercise again, and only myself can do that especially as I had a letter today saying that I will have to wait 2-3 months for the therapy for my anxieties. Great news that was this morning….!

2 Responses to “The Weight Issue”


  1. 1 Jo June 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I’m not a huge advocate of calorie counting, per se – but eating less than 2000 calories a day really does work, especially if you can fit even a little exercise in. Its amazing to discover how much you regularly eat over that, when you are trying not too! Or so I discovered, anyway… xx

    • 2 Michelle Best June 15, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Hi Jo – I will keep that in mind while cooking, nowadays most recipes have calories in the info section. I should really do a food diary so I can see what I’m eating and then work out the calories. Might need your help in calorie counting. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


