10 things… #6

I’m now bored with 10 things… but I will carry on regardless.

6. Bread. I love baking bread. I enjoy kneading bread. When I’m feeling a bit down and need to use up some restless energy I then knead and gaze at wonder every time when the dough rises. I don’t need a bread machine to make bread. I have made white, wholemeal, malted grain loafs. I have made white and wholemeal rolls. It is easy to do and I only use two recipes. One from my Nigella cookbook and the roll recipe is off the packet of flour. I agree with Nigella that you don’t need to mess with bread. Just the basic recipes are best. No need to put lots of other ingredients to make it something different.

I have a bread book called “Artisan Bread in 5 mins everyday” or something on those lines. I found it rubbish (if anyone wants it then let me know). I don’t have a paddle pizza slice or a baking stone or a giant fridge to put lots of dough in (yes, in case you are wondering it is an American book). I don’t want to spend 5 minutes a day making bread in to a different shape with a different topping or filling. Just a slice of ‘normal’ bread with butter and jam will do. The next step in the bread making phrase is to try out some other flours. I have Gram flour (good for Indian flat breads) and buckwheat flour. I think more glass jars are required to house all these flours. Of course, the best part of all of this is the smell of fresh baked bread. I love baking bread!

0 Responses to “10 things… #6”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


