10 things… #7

I’m ill with a summer cold so thinking about what to write has been tough but here goes nothing…

7. White vinegar and bicarb. I absolutely adored this stuff. Not to eat or drink with but to clean with. I use the white vinegar for everything – cleaning mirrors, removing limescale, fabric softener (yes, that’s right, and no my clothes don’t smell of a chip shop), cleaning stains on carpets, cleaning the wooden floors, wiping down the new 60s sideboard (removing 50 years of furniture polish), mixing it with bicarb and water for a general cleaning spray. With my 5 litres of the stuff I’m having a good cleaning time.

As for the Bicarbonate of Soda, I used that today to clean the kitchen sink. It is now a stain-free and shiny stainless steel sink. No nasty chemicals and cheap! I’ve also used it to clean the fridge out with and did the ‘shake n’ vac’ with it on the carpets too. It is a great deodoriser. There is a wealth of information on the internet about using both white vinegar and bicarb plus lemon juice, soda crystals and olive oil. Five items are all I need for cleaning – how healthy and green my home is!

1 Response to “10 things… #7”


  1. 1 Kate W July 22, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Bicarb also good for chicken pox apparently, reduces the itching. I scattered some in the pox victim’s bath tonight!


Leave a Reply

Archives


