Cooking and home

I’ve done tons of cooking today and I’m knackered – can I dare say that maybe this is why so many men are top chefs as oppose to women. It is more likely that the long hours they work would make most women run a mile because they would have to cook dinner and clean the house when home as well. That is enough stereotyping for today – this is what I cook today: oven-dried tomatoes (now covered in olive oil in a jar); minestrone soup; chocolate brownies; Borrowdale tea bread; veg chilli and rice. Also, I cook some beetroot that was meant to go in to the brownie mixture but I didn’t realise it had to be cooked and it takes about an hour to cook – too long for the mixture. Still, it is still a win situation as we now have normal chocolate brownies and I might just have to bake some more tomorrow with the beetroot.

As for home (in the title, you see), the house that we viewed on an island has been sold, so all those dreams of spending ridiculous amounts of money on it and the 6.5 acres of land have been dashed. But as I always say, this means that it wasn’t meant to be and something better will come along. Hopefully, come along when we are ready to move house. There is a need to be living in countryside more as we get older but moving house is so stressful that I don’t think my poor anxious brain could take it at the moment. Maybe next year. Though, I will keep looking on Rightmove for any possible exciting opportunities to dream about.

2 Responses to “Cooking and home”


  1. 1 Cynical Scribble October 13, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Cooking beans on toast is about my limit lately. You should give Masterchef a go and get the eagle eyed stare from John Torode!

    If you have any spare baking going, put them in a taxi and send them north, ta!

    • 2 Michelle Best October 13, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      Heh, going on Masterchef is just too scary and I’m not that good of a cook but I’ll take that as a compliment. *beep beep* – oh, here is the taxi for up north!


Leave a Reply

Archives


