Daydreamer

I thought about this post a few days ago but as it is now April 1st maybe I should write a ‘joke’ post for April Fools? However, I’m useless of thinking these pranks up – I wonder if it is more of a boy thing. So, I’m afraid that no jokes here except maybe I’m thinking of adding a video at the end… The Monkees – Daydream Believer, in reference to the title. I used to love watching and listening to The Monkees when I was growing up, though I guess it is very uncool to say you like them these days.  Back to being a daydreamer because that is what I am. Even my holistic therapist thinks that and is often trying to ‘ground’ me back down to earth. Not that there is anything wrong with being a daydreamer but sometimes you just need to live in the present and put the silly dreams aside. Especially when many of those dreams are very far-fetched.

Even with my head in the clouds, this week as been mainly a good week – I’ve been trying to do some mediation (12 minutes, thanks to a free podcast I have found), learning that my fears won’t harm me, realising that there will be good and bad days, taking it easy, enjoying the sunshine. When I am having a good moment then all seems well and I managed to do things outside the house like speaking to folks about volunteering at the local Thames Chase Forestry Commission centre. Then I fill out the form and take it back… which means I’m now committed to this. Now, I’m anxious about starting (once I hear back from them), will I be able to cope with first day nerves and my anxiety? But this will make me get out the house once a week and talk to other people. This can only be good but I’m still scared. And breathe. Mediation and breathing will help. Anxiety has a habit of making you forget to take air in – well, in a normal fashion. One good daydream is to be able to go out without feeling anxious and feel excited to do things. Yes, that is a good daydream and it will happen one day. Happy Friday!

2 Responses to “Daydreamer”


  1. 1 Kate April 4, 2011 at 9:31 am

    The Monkees, uncool?! Wash your mouth out! Mark, Isabel and I are going to see them live at the Albert Hall in May – woohoo! And we are the collest cats around…..!

    • 2 Michelle Best April 5, 2011 at 3:42 pm

      They are still great, even if a tiny bit uncool 🙂 Next time I’ll come with you to see them live!


Leave a Reply

Archives


