All Coloured-Out

On this miserable, dull Sunday, I have spent most of my time studying colour for websites. From colour blindness, illusions, the colour wheel and the list goes on. Surprisingly there is a lot to learn about colour. As I’ve always enjoyed art and design at school and college, I hope I’ve got a good idea of colours that go together to give a harmonious look. But when you are studying for a course, they have specific rules that I have to follow to get to my chosen look for when I have to design a website. Part of the lesson was also about how the eye works and naming parts of the eye. So far on this course I have learnt that design also includes maths and biology! I wonder what will be in next weeks lesson… chemistry?

On the subject of colour, we are in the process of decorating our hallway from 80s style to our style, which I’m hoping will be grey,white and black. I have a Dulux colour booklet to source colours for the hallway but my mind keeps wandering on to the other pages and now I have illusions of redecorating the two main bedrooms again. White Mist for the front bedroom with a feature wall of Overtly Olive or maybe some nice wallpaper. Then for the guest bedroom Satin Bow and White Chalk – a sort of pretty in soft pink look. Not sure if husband would agree with that one as his wardrobe is in that room. It must be a great job to be the person who names these paints – here is a list of some of the best ones I found: Crazy Cream; Vineyard Earth; Nude Glow; Seduction; Lunar Falls; Mud Hut; Sundried Tomato. Now from these names you can kind of tell what colour they should be – Sundried Tomato – Red; Mud Hut – Brown. But what about Seduction or Lunar Falls? Well, Seduction would you think is Red or Purple but no, it’s peachy and Lunar Falls is a creamy yellow colour. I also wonder what the job title is for someone who names paint colours… answers on a postcard please.

0 Responses to “All Coloured-Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Archives